Our First Valentine’s Day

Standard

thC90OGDWUI remember our first Valentine’s Day like it was yesterday.  No, it is not what you are thinking.  It was not magical.   It was not romantic.   We live hundreds of miles apart, how could it be?  All the same, I remember it so well.

I stayed awake the night before writing a poem for him.  It wasn’t a poem that one would call awesome or brilliant.   I just took each letter of the word VALENTINE and wrote a poem for him, each letter stating something about how awesome Jack is and why I love him.   I sent it to him early in the morning so I was sure he would get it when he woke up.  That’s what he did.  When he woke up he would text me with “Good Morning Sweetheart” and check his mail.

As the day went by I received gift after gift, texts, notes, emails wishing me a Happy Valentine’s Day.  Little reminders that I was loved.   But they were not from Jack.   They were from my husband.   Jack never responded to my email.   And he never even said I love you that day.  Needless to say I was a little more than upset.  For the first time I was actually pissed off.

I let Jack know how I felt.   His response was “I have been busy” and “I did compose an email response to you, but I deleted it after your nasty email”.    For the next year, that would be his response.   “I am busy” or “I have family in town” or “I have a big project I am working on”.

He started to say things about how I am high maintenance.  And how I am demanding.  And how I am too emotional.   Really?  Exactly how demanding can I be from across the country?    My emotions, this is why he fell in love with me.  And now he was bothered by it.

3 thoughts on “Our First Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

