My First Attempt

Standard

1352-clicked-into-my-heartAfter months of chatting online and through emails I finally got the nerve to call him.  He had given me his phone number weeks ago, but I wasn’t sure I wanted to hear his voice.  I was not sure I wanted him to be real.

We set up a time for me to call him.   He was at a party with others.   And ironically so was I.   I stepped outside to call him and was a little disturbed.   We had planned this.  My heart was racing with excitement and with fear.   The phone rang and … you guessed it.  I went straight to voice mail.   I didn’t really know how to feel.  I should have been angry, but I wasn’t.   I should have been upset, but I wasn’t.   I was actually a little relieved, I think.  I went back to my party and had a good time.

That night I was checking my email and there was an apology email from him.   “Oh Jackie (since he is Jack I will call myself Jackie).  I am so sorry.   When you called I was so excited that I dropped my phone and it shattered.   I am so clumsy.”   Really?  Oddly enough I believed him.   Even more odd is that I think he was telling the truth.  “I could not wait to get home and email you so that you would know what happened.  I am so sorry.   I will get a new phone tomorrow and we will talk.   I love you.  I need to hear your voice.”

I slept well that night.  I was satisfied.  Why am I so damned easily satisfied?

 

3 thoughts on “My First Attempt

Leave a Reply

